top of page

February Reads


I read so many great books this month! My New Year's Resolution is holding strong.

After reading Escaping Mr. Lemoncello's Library, I wanted another puzzle mystery book. One that was recommended to me was The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin. The author does a great job developing characters, especially since there are so many key players in the novel. The premise is that a wealthy man has been murdered but the killer is still out there - in his will, he's tasked his relatives to find the culprit using a mix of crazy and confusing clues. What ensues is a mad race to win the $200 million inheritance. While this was a good book and I didn't predict the ending, I didn't enjoy it quite as much as Escaping Mr. Lemoncello's Library.

The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane is a beautiful book by Kate DiCamillo, the author of The Tale of Despereaux (one of my favorite books). This book was actually recommended to me by our wonderful Assistant Principal, Ms. Sass.

A porcelain rabbit learns about love and loss in this poignant and heartwarming book. After being thrown overboard a ship, Edward Tulane thinks he will be stuck at the bottom of the ocean forever until one day his is plucked from the sea. Throughout his journey, he meets all types of characters, each intricately described by the author. It is a lovely read and I hope to share it with students in the future.

The Hundred Dresses by Eleanor Estes was my next selection. This was a reread for me as I read it to my class in my first year of teaching.

The lessons in this book about standing up for others, being your own person and not knowing others' hardships are such important ones for young kids and adults alike. While it was written over 60 years ago, the author's words still ring true. It's a great, short read!

I've read a few of Neil Gaimen's more adult books and he is a fantastic story weaver. Coraline is no exception. This fantasy is about a little girl who finds herself in an alternate universe with an 'other mother' who wants to keep her forever. If you like creepy reads, this is the book for you.

Coraline is a self-proclaimed explorer and challenges her other mother to a game, an exploring game. Coraline bets her freedom in this game and sets our to find her parents and the souls of other children trapped in this world.

Gaimen has you on the edge of your seat rooting for Coraline's victory. This may be one for older students but definitely worth the read.

Finally, this month, I finished Make Just One Change: Teach Students to Ask Their Own Questions by Dan Rothstein and Luz Santana.

As stated in the book, teachers are master question-askers. But, this is a skill that we need to teach and cultivate in our students. This book outlines a process for teaching students to ask their own questions, a skill necessary to guide learning and to be productive as an adult.

I'm excited to put what I've learned to use in my room and share with other teachers to promote an environment of inquiry for our students.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page