top of page

March Reads

Another month down, nine more to go to keep up with my New Year's Resolution. This month, I read Wish by Barbara O'Connor, A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L'Engle, From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, Hello Universe by Erin Entrada Kelly and Teaching with the Brain in Mind by Eric Jensen. Two classics, two newer novels and a professional book I've heard a lot about.

Wish was the first book I read this month. The book is set in the mountains of North Carolina, I always enjoy reading books set in North Carolina. Being born and raised here gives me a strong connection to any book that sets its story in the Tarheel state.

A young girl, Charlie, is sent to live in the rural mountains of NC with her aunt and uncle when her family situation in Raleigh becomes unstable. She hates the town and the hillbillies that inhabit it. She is sulky and rude to just about everyone. Her new 'backpack buddy,' Howard, doesn't let that deter him. Their friendship grows when Charlies sets out to catch a stray dog. Charlie's life changes for the better in this small, mountain town. Is it due to the wish she has made every day for years? Or is it due to the people she is surrounded with? I really did love this book as it shows the power of unconditional love.

A Wrinkle in Time has been on my list to read since I found out the movie was coming out this year. I didn't read it as a child because I wasn't very interested in the fantasy, sci-fi genre - preferring, instead, historical fiction. To be honest, it still isn't my favorite genre which might be why I had a lukewarm reaction to this book.

Meg, Charles Wallace and Calvin set off to find Meg and Charles Wallace's father who has been missing for the past few years. What Meg didn't expect was to be traveling to new planets full of strange creatures, some helpful and some hurtful. When the rescue attempt goes awry, Meg has to step up and be the hero.

Yes, I wanted to find out what happens and yes, it is well-written. However, not knowing what the book was actually about, I went into it expecting something completely different. Not my favorite book but I'll still see the movie to compare (plus I love the cast!).

Another book that I probably should have read when I was younger, but like I said, I very much preferred historical fiction and I am a creature of habit, is From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E Frankweiler. This book comes on recommendation from my best friend who probably reads more books than anyone else I know. So, if she recommends it, I usually read it.

It's about a brother and sister who run away from home and hide out in the Metropolitan Museum of Art. While there, their interest is captured by a statue rumored to be sculpted by the famous artist Michelangelo. On their quest to discover the truth, they discover truths about themselves and a mysterious older woman by the name of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler. This was a great read and I'm sure anyone who enjoyed Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library would like this book as well.

My favorite book of the month has to be Hello, Universe a new novel from Erin Entrada Kelly and recent recipient of the Newberry Medal (as you can see). This book captured my heart in the first few pages and I would recommend it to anyone!

Virgil is shy and spends a lot of his time with his pet guinea pig, Gulliver. Kaori is a budding psychic and in touch with the universe. Valencia is trying to find a way to stop her nightmares. And, Chet is a bully.

The four lives of these middle schoolers come together when Virgil is in need of help. The feminine protagonist ban together to save him and Virgil finally learns to speak up for himself.

I can't say enough how much I love this book! Please let me know if you read it so we can talk about how much we love it together!

Finally, my professional book of the month is Teaching with the Brain in Mind by Eric Jensen. I can't tell you how many conferences I've been to where there has been a session that references this book. Published in the late 1990s, some of the research may be out of date. However, the core of what is being discussed still holds true.

I took so many notes about this book...Psychology was my favorite class in high school so I'm relearning the brain anatomy such as the hippocampus and frontal lobe. But, it's just amazing to see how the ways in which we learn are affected by different stimuli. Although not surprising, one of the most impactful things I took away from this book was how much early childhood can affect academic success.

Up next is Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson and As Brave as You by Jason Reynolds but I'm not sure which professional book I will pick up next. What do you recommend?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page